We wonder…

Welcome to the blog of a teacher and class who never stop wondering. The world of teaching is an amazing place. Every day new questions pop up, new challenges are explored and new achievements are within reach. When you are exploring the world through the eyes of 20 students it is easy to see the wonder. It is an exciting privelege to share in discoveries and new ideas together.

I strive to be a teacher who opens up the walls of the classroom to my class. Every year I eagerly meet a new group of students and embark of a journey with them. I love exploring our curriculum and helping them learn facts but I know that this is not the most important part of my job. I want to teach my children how to learn. I want them to love learning as much as I do. I want them to know that they can create new things, dream up new ideas and test their own understandings. I want them to know that at any age we are all learners.

This year at my school we have been exploring visible thinking and creating a culture of thinking. Before I started this process I thought that I taught students how to THINK all the time. Maybe I did but I want to push harder. Along with my colleagues and my students I am challenging myself to critically reflect on how much time and energy we are really spending  THINKING about THINKING.

I am starting this blog as a way to reflect on my own learning, my students learning, my class interactions, my teaching and the ways in which my students teach me every single day.

I would love for you to follow me and share with me in this journey. I don’t have all the answers but I know that I will have a lot of questions. I know that this year I have already been exploring and investigating THINKING at a deeper level than previously. I am looking forward to thinking through some new ideas and challenging myself, my colleagues and my students even further.

post

Author: wpskc

I am a Kindergarten teacher in Sydney, Australia. I teach in a fantastic school with amazing students. I look forward to sharing in their learning every day.

Leave a Reply

